My sister and I have just gone through a suitcase full of stuff... our grandfather, Nils', suitcase. It has so many documents and pictures in it. But it made us able to learn something new about him.

During WW2, he was actually in a resistance group called "Lenkegjengen" (The Link Gang). I suppose the meaning of it is that they(or Norway) were and should be "linked" together as one people, or something like that. Anyway, they planned a few actions, some of which succeded if I have understood this right. And my grandfather was actually jailed for his resistance work... not only once, but twice. Apparently it was because he had been handing out illegal magazines/newspapers. I had no idea this had happened. The suitcase also holds many invitations to events and balls. It can seem like he was an important person. He has even received a signed thank you letter from King Olav.
^I kind of liked this picture. Nils had a few pictures of this, so it might have been an action or something.


The picture underneath is soldiers walking from Akershus Festning(castle). I'm not certain of this, but I think Nils is the man in front to the right. --- Correction... the person to the right is not Nils. I have found this picture and all the names. A bit disappointing, also strange, because this really looks like him. Anyway, the picture is cool.
SaraK
13/7/2013 09:56:03 pm

Ååå, det var så spennende å høre om alt du hadde funnet ut! Lurer skikkelig på hvor det bildet er fra, har du prøvd å dele på Face og spurt der? :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.