Letters...today it seems like a very old fashioned way of communication. There are easier and certainly faster ways of keeping in touch. However, there's still something special about sending and/or receiving a letter. A hand written letter is somewhat more personal, but then if you make a mistake it is so much more annoying to deal with. After I moved to England I have become very fond of letters. I send them to my friends and when they reply it is something which I can hang on the wall and then be reminded of my friend whenever I look at it.

75 years ago, keeping in touch with your friends and family what very different from today. Picture taking a person from 1938 and put him in 2013. That would make an interesting story. Anyway, in 1926 my grandfather's brother left Norway behind to look for a better life (I assume). He was single and probably didn't have much to lose (apart from his family). He travelled over to the states.

A few years ago I found letters from him, sent to my grandfather in Norway. Two of them are from 1938 and the last one is from 1947. I'm sure he sent more than that, but unfortunately I haven't found any more.
Picture
The language is a bit old fashioned, so it's not that easy to translate, but I've done my best.
The first part is written by Erling's wife:

"Dear Nils:
I shall write for Erling. He is working everyday, but he was going to write and thank you for your letter. It is fun to hear from Norway. We are living in another area now, so we have gotten a lot of work to do to get our new home finished. We are in 3306-E-25st.
We have cold weather still, but hoping it will get hot soon.
We are seeing Pete Berkley every now and then. His girls have become so big and they don't have time to come over and see us, but we see them sometimes.

Dennis is going to school everyday. He was five years old the 27. Feb, soon he
will be an adult as well.

Yes, you must come and see us. That would've been really nice. We won't be
able to get as far as Norway. It takes too much money to pay for all of us, and you are
alone.


Thank you for you letter, and write soon again. Erling will probably write one day to you too.  Say hi to your mother from us all.
- Erling, Selma and Dennis"

Then Erling writes a longer letter:
Dear little brother!
Thousand thanks for the letter I received from you some time back. It was really funny to hear a few words from you. I see you are working in the same place and that everything is fine in every way. Everything is just fine with us as well.
We have all been healthy through the whole winter and now the spring is here, so everything is going to be just fine.

We have had a good winter this year. Barely any snow and we haven't had minus degrees for more than 4-5 days, but lately we've had a lot of rain. Yes, with flooding everywhere. Yes, right in to Mpls. But the city lays high above the rivers. Yes, especially Mississippi. But all the cities around have been standing under water, and the rivers are still raising.

Life is going as usual, with plenty of work, like we always have during the winter. But it's starting to quiet down, so I think I will take a a holiday this summer. Yes, I guess you've been home again during easter, and had lots of fun as usual. Yes, it would've been a lot of fun to come back one day and go skiing on the mountain, if I haven't forgotten how to ski yet, but I would never think so.

We have now moved and we are living in a house by ourselves. We have four rooms downstairs and two bedrooms
on the first floor. Yes, we've gotten a really nice place, so you should come over and see soon. Maybe on your honeymoon.

Dennis is also going to school now. He started in February, and you can believe the wildcat is proud now.
He isn't growing that fast, but he strong like nothing else. I haven't heard from home in a long while, but
they are sending me newspapers, so I always know what is going on in old Lhmr. So as you see there are a lot of
joy in them. Hans Wald, who you saw when he was home, went to the hospital to remove the appendicitis. But he is now home and in good recovery.

Yes, I don't have that much to write about, but a little is better than nothing. Are you seeing Uncle August at all?
I haven't heard of him in many years. Maybe you see him every now and then. If you do, you'll have to send him and his children my best. Yes, you should live well and write soon, please. Selma has also written a few words.
Lots of love from big brother Erling."




Leave a Reply.